Slaw on the side

FullSizeRender (14)

It’s been about a month since we took our first long-distance Jeep trek of the season. It’s become something of a tradition for Hubby Bryan and me to head south in late spring in search of warmer temps to test out the topless mode of the Wrangler. Most often, our destination has been Omaha, but this time around we decided to go a bit farther south and decided on Kansas City as the locale for a long weekend adventure.

We have often passed through — or more aptly around — KC on our way to other places. So we figured it was time we checked out the local brewery scene and dig into some barbecue. That meant a stop at Boulevard Brewing Co., the largest of the “craft” breweries there, as well as a couple of the smaller establishments that produce beer.

Boulevard met our expectations, with a delightful tour led by a charming young lady, concluding with a sampling of some of their products. Since we’ve been on more than a few such brewery tours, we really didn’t learn anything new, but we especially enjoyed the view from a rooftop deck and sampling some of their experimental beverages.

We also got a recommendation for KC BBQ, and headed just down the street to Danny Edwards Boulevard BBQ, one of the more “hole-in-the-wall”-type barbecue places, as opposed to the slicker sit-down restaurants. The service was fast, the burnt ends were fabulous and the atmosphere was casual and homey. We would certainly go back again.

Accompanying our barbecue selections was a side dish of slaw, of course. Coleslaw is a regular supper side dish at our house, so I like to try the various regional versions. Over the years, I’ve developed my own throw-together version that I think combines the best qualities of those I’ve enjoyed.

So a couple of blogs ago, when I posted a photo of a burger, there was slaw on the side, and one of you readers asked me for the recipe. That meant I had to actually stop and measure what I put in my slaw dressing, and that took a little doing, since I usually  mix up just enough for Bryan and me. Even when I make a bigger batch for a gathering, I add a little bit of this and a little bit of that until I get the flavor right. But I did manage to get a reasonable facsimile down on paper. 

I’m not sure if this would qualify as Kansas City slaw. It’s my own version — not too creamy, not too sweet, not too vinegary, with a hint of heat for my spice-loving hubby. Because it’s convenient, I use the bagged cole-slaw mixture, available in the produce section at the grocery store, although I’ve also thrown in some kohlrabi, broccoli or other crunchy veggie for a change of pace. Most often, I add some chopped red bell pepper for both color and flavor.

So, as requested, here is my slaw recipe. It’s what’s for a supper side dish at our house at least a couple of times a week during the summer months.

 

Slaw on the Side

1 tablespoon sugar (honey or agave syrup may be substituted to taste)FullSizeRender (13)

2 tablespoons red wine vinegar

½ teaspoon lime juice

1 teaspoon dijon mustard

1 tablespoon bottled ranch dressing

Several dashes (or to taste) hot sauce

½ cup mayonnaise

¼ teaspoon seasoned salt

½ cup finely chopped onion

⅓ cup chopped red bell pepper

 

In a bowl, dissolve the sugar in the red wine vinegar and lime juice. Add the mustard, ranch, hot sauce, mayonnaise and salt, whisking to combine. Fold in the chopped onion and red bell pepper. Combine dressing with one bag prepared coleslaw mix.

 

One thought on “Slaw on the side

  1. Definitely going to make this as I too serve either a bagged salad or coleslaw often, probably 5 out of 7 evening meals. Wish I had some tonight as we made brisket in smoker last weekend and had sandwiches tonight. I told Rich the only thing that would have made my brisket sandwich better would have been a scoop of coleslaw on top!

    Like

Leave a Reply

